Skip to content

Norwegian reversible Avalon

January 19, 2011

“The Avalon jacket is named for the city in Catalina Island -just a short ferry ride and yet worlds away from the concrete canyons of Los Angeles”. Words from the pattern designer Nancy Langdon, who also designed the Feliz party dress. The main feature of this jacket is the wavy hemline. It’s designed to be lined or made reversible with two fabrics but I wanted to take advantage of this fleece I got over Ebay a few weeks ago. I originally wanted to turn it into a garment for me but I couldn’t come up with any pattern that would make the Norvegian pattern flattering on curvy me and didn’t want to use only the grey side as outer fabric, hiding the pattern inside. So DD had to have it, and I knew I wanted to play with the two “good sides” of the fabric. Here’s the result on a hanger, because a bit big on DD right now (click pictures to enlarge):

Plain side:

Norvegian side:

The sleeves’ hem, neckline and jacket’s hem are only staystitched, similar to my turtleneck’ sleeves. The shoulder seams and zipper are interfaced for stability.  I got this special zipper on ebay for a couple of €. It zips up both sides. This was a useful tutorial for shortening it, although I reused the zipper stops. All seams are flat-fell except the sleeves that are double-stitched. I’m really happy about how the pattern matches all over the jacket, which was easier to achieve than I’d thought. I had to set in the sleeves instead of sewing them in the flat to achieve this in combination with the flat-fell seams. Obviously, I also embellished the jacket. I might add some crocheted cotton flowers in the front if it’s not girly enough for DD.

I love how the width is adjustable with the ribbon in the back, which is an embellishment proposed by the designer.

This pattern is available here, here and here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2011 13:52

    Love it so much! I was just reading Nancy Langdon’s book last night with the Feliz Party dress and I recognized the quote about Avalon! I am hosting a first knitting group meeting tonight so we are going to be talking about your post–some of the attendees are wildly interested in Norwegian knit patterns. I am a beginner knitter myself but excited to see what others are up to. I found your post thru Tag Surfer, thanks for the dose of creativity!

    Like

  2. CGCouture permalink
    January 19, 2011 17:00

    That turned out fabulous!

    Like

  3. January 24, 2011 12:15

    OMG YOU have done THIS?! It is so supercute! Lovely – but then I can make some more requirements on my wedding dress, since you proved to be a pro.

    I think we need a very small belt sewn on it with a tiny, tiny bow on the front. Imagine Jackie Kennedy on a lady’s lunch. Also some black application on the sleeve. And maybe a bow on the collar. We shall see.
    I love the ribbon – I’d always love me some ribbons.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Pattern magic – take 1 « Lin3arossa's Blog
  2. Surfing on the Californian coast « Lin3arossa's Blog
  3. Looking Back on 2011 « Lin3arossa's Blog

Leave a comment