Skip to content

Instant gratification shirt

December 24, 2010

This pattern has been literally popping up all over the blogs lately, in all cases reviewed with praising words. So many people can’t be wrong so I decided to make it up using a remnant of my cut-and-ready-to-sew V1202. Funny isn’t it? This is the rest of something that didn’t exist at the time. I don’t have anything but praising words to say about it. Easy to cut, quick to sew, nice relaxed fit, at least with my FBA. I’m FBA-ing everything now lol. Anyway, this pattern is a keeper. I love the extra long sleeves.

The only change I made was staystitching the sleeves as hemming. I have this finish on some RTW shirts of mine and I like it. I had intented to make thumb holes like the Slapdash Sewist but I totally forgot about it when sewing the sleeves. I should have closed the sleeve seam and overlock the allowances separately instead of using my overlock stitch to close the seam. Oh well. Next time, maybe…

The fabric I used is a wool jersey. The only thing I changed is sew the sleeves on the flat rather than setting them in, which is ok on casual garments. For more info on the difference it makes and when to use which method, read this post on dominant seams.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2010 16:21

    Love it! I think I’m the only one who hasn’t sewn this one! I hope you and your family have a happy holiday!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Norvegian reversible Avalon « Lin3arossa's Blog

Leave a Reply

