Skip to content

Doing magic

January 18, 2011

That’s what the “Pattern Magic” book series should enable one to do. You might recall that I vowed to up my skills a bit and step out of my comfort zone in 2011. Well, ordering all 3 volumes of “pattern magic” is the first step. The first two have been reviewed or patterns made up on other sites (check here, here, here or there). The 3rd and most recent is dedicated to knits and also seems to be the easiest. For example, it comes with a basic top pattern whereas the other 2 requested you to draft your own sloper. The book is in Japanese and as far as I can see, contains altering procedures but no construction details, which is really ok for the garments presented. Here are a few excerpts:

The techniques are reminiscent of what I saw here a few weeks ago. Now I need some french curves…

I thought I’d post more pictures of Novita:

In unrelated matters, today was a day I knew would come but I was kind of surprised it happened so fast. Today DD asked me why there’s only 2 “chocolate” in her daycare group (of 17) while all others are “vanilla”. Not because anybody told her anything about it, she just noticed and was kind of sad about it. So today I explained my 3 yo that we’re all the same inside. We all feel the pain when we hurt or the joy when we’re happy. We all bleed red, no matter if we’re “vanilla” or “chocolate” outside. In the end, she said “I like what you’re saying, mom”. And so it was all okay. Someday, she’ll realize that we’re all the same but each unique, and it’s ok that way.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 16:01

    ooh thanks very much for the preview! I just bought the English language version of the first book last week and I feel SO inspired! I think the woven “bamboo” top was my favourite, but I really like the bow bodice now after seeing the one you linked to. Hopefully they’ll translate this new one soon…

    Like

    • January 20, 2011 19:14

      The translation of the second one was supposed to come out January 11, 2011. Look for it!

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. More Drape – Pattern Magic Dress « Lin3arossa's Blog

Leave a Reply

