Skip to content

One party dress and one fear conquered!

July 26, 2010

After deciding back in April that she didn’t want to wear pants anymore, DD seems to have decided now that any dress or skirt she deigns to put on must twirl. And I found the perfect pattern: the party dress from Studio tantrum. If you have a girl who dresses in 86/18 months to 140/9 years, you’ll want to get this pattern. It’s available here and you might want to get it fast because it used to be available here and here as well but I can’t find it anymore. And I’m not getting paid by Studio Tantrum. The Feliz party dress is an evolutive pattern that’s designed to be worn as a dress the first year, as a tunic the following and altered to a skirt on the third. It looks like a dressed with an apron and kind of reminds me of a dirndl. There are so many variations and embellishment possibilities to this pattern! You can make it with or without back ruffles (I’m definitely doing those next time), a hem ruffle, “cap” sleeves, embellishment buttons in the back, and the sky is the limit for any other embellishment in the front. It’s insane! Here is the post that draw my attention to this pattern and here are even more Feliz dresses.

I replaced topstiching in almost all places with understitching. I love understitching: highly effective but invisible. My main fabric is sheer so I underlined it with white batist. The other fabrics are cotton (polka dot seen here). I embellished the seams with a matching polka dot rickrack (see Nehmah? I’m learning!) to make them stand out a bit. I hemmed the apron part with a striped cotton bias. I used satin ribbon for the back knot instead of one of the fashion fabrics, to add some drama. I like that the width of the dress can be adjusted with that ribbon. This is really a versatile and thought-out pattern. The dress it finished with french seams.

The pattern comes on paper with instructions and you can download a booklet with images here if you prefer. That’s what I did and did not refer to the written instructions once. I have to say with instructions like “attach the ruffles”, they’re not written for beginners. Also, the pattern does not include pattern pieces for the ruffles or doesn’t tell you how to cut them à la Burda i.e. by solely stating the dimensions of the pieces, neither are the “cap” sleeves. You’ll have to draft those yourself. The pattern comes with a label, which I found cute.

I’m so proud to have conquered a fear of mine with this pattern: I can now use my rolled hem foot! Proof:

Curtain:

I entered this dress in the Patternreview Sewing for Children Contest in which members can vote August 1-10 here.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 13:31

    So cute! Very Alice in Wonderland.

    Like

  2. July 27, 2010 13:18

    Gorgeous and lovely work with the detailing and french sems. She is beautiful…

    Like

  3. August 1, 2010 21:12

    It’s beautiful and she looks so pretty in it. I made this dress a while ago too and love to see all the different versions of it. Another fabric makes it a totally different dress. And this one is lovely!

    Like

  4. laetitia permalink
    September 10, 2010 21:54

    Bravo Ghains, ta puce est magnifique avec cette robe. Je suis très très impressionnée!!

    Like

  5. January 1, 2011 21:40

    elle est très jolie cette robe et va bien à ta fille !!

    Like

  6. January 2, 2011 07:50

    MAGNIFIQUE ! bravo ! j’adore !

    Like

  7. January 16, 2011 20:49

    Très jolie Robe !! Bravo

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Could it be? « Lin3arossa's Blog
  2. Norvegian reversible Avalon « Lin3arossa's Blog
  3. Snail skirt: Redondo « Lin3arossa's Blog
  4. Sustainable Sewing « Lin3arossa's Blog

Leave a Reply

