Skip to content

Dora the Explorer wrap dress

June 6, 2010

This is one dot dress so soooooooo easy to make. I made it shortly after discovering Amanda’s blog and finishing the babynomade-like blanket, which inspired me to used my bias remnants to give this dress an impeccable finish: either french seams or bias binding. Amanda is a master at perfectly finishing her garments and even made me question the need of an overlocker, since she doesn’t own one. Since I didn’t use self-fabric bias and took satin ribbon for the bands, I was able to make this with less than 1 m of fabric (instead of 1,10m). Also, because I was too lazy to grade it down one size to 104, I cut a size 110 without seam allowances and sew 1-cm seam allowances. Fits.

This dress shows the beauty of wrap dresses: even a 3 yo gets a waist wearing it!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Trail's Crafts permalink
    June 7, 2010 04:40

    I love the Dora dress. It’s adorable.

    Like

  2. CGCouture permalink
    June 7, 2010 15:21

    Very cute, and isn’t it great to practice those sorts of techniques on someone who doesn’t care if it isn’t perfect? 🙂 What is this pattern? I don’t have a little girl to sew for of my own, but I’ve had several moms ask me if I can make stuff for their daughters, and something like this would be very cute and appropriate for just about any little girl.

    Like

    • June 7, 2010 17:00

      oh sorry, I tagged and categorized it but forgot to reference in the text: this is Burda magazine july 2009, pattern 139 🙂 And yes, this is why I also love sewing for my daughter: it gives me a chance to practice new techniques before using them for my own stuff 😀

      Like

  3. June 26, 2010 06:23

    On my children’s clothing I can be even more of a perfectionist than on my own, so that practicing idea wouldn’t work on my.. *grin*

    Cute dress! I bet she is very happy with it, I know my three year old would be! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment