Skip to content

Help!

January 17, 2010
tags:

Not long after Burda released its Fashion Line patterns last year, I looked for the pattern 510C in my favorite sewing shop. After perusing further shops across town, I had to face the evidence: it was sold out. And after waiting another couple of months, I had to face another evidence: it wasn’t going to be printed again. Maybe it’s because I’m lazy or simply because I’m busy (or both), it took me another few months to download it, cut the sheets of paper, tape them, cut again and sew it up. I used a fabric bought at the Holland fabric market about a year and a half ago for around 3€/m, that was actually intended for the Bella pants. I must’ve learned something in the last year and a half because it’s clear to me now that this fabric couldn’t be less suited for that pattern. It has no drape whatsoever. So I took it for Burda 510C. It’s hard to describe. It looks like denim (but is not) with the structure of silk dupioni but it’s not slippery. And it does not fray a bit. Now to my dilemma. It was always clear to me that I’d add a collar to the pattern. But now that it’s so far, I’m assaulted by doubt. So I ask for your help. Please vote on the following poll which collar you’d find more suited. Here’s what the tunic looks like right now:

And here are my possibilities (click to enlarge):

the original neckline:                                                                                the collar of 510B (also seen here):

A dramatic collar:

At first I was going for the dramatic collar but now I fear with all the other details of the tunic it could be too much. So I’m pondering a toned down version or none at all. Although I think without a collar it look like a little girl’s or teenager’s tunic, especially because of the ballon sleeves. Please let me know what you think by voting and/or commenting.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2010 11:10

    Alors, j’ai voté pour l’encolure original même si à choisir, je serai partie pour l’encolure dramatique. Mais c’est vrai qu’elle risque d’être un peu compliquée à faire…
    Je ne sais pas ce que la robe donne portée mais j’aime le rendu avec ce tissu🙂

    Like

    • lin3arossa permalink
      January 20, 2010 11:34

      Merci Lasandrou! J’espere qu’il y aura assez de votes pour m’aider a decider!

      Like

  2. CGCouture permalink
    January 21, 2010 04:19

    Hopefully I’m not too late! I’d probably leave it as is, but if you insist on a collar, the 501B collar is (IMHO) the better option. Be sure to show us the final result of your decision!🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

