Skip to content

Finally!!!

January 18, 2010
tags: , ,

After talking about it a few times (1, 2, 3 times) and admiring the various versions that popped out all around the blogosphere, cutting my own and letting it sit in a corner for a couple of months, I finally made it: my own cosy.

Based on Sigrid’s tutorial and the Lydia pattern I bought as most Burdastyle patterns were still free of charge. I knew this would get pulled every which way in the wrapping process so I’d need seams that are elastic and sturdy. Since I apparently haven’t been enough of a good girl to get an overlock from Santa in 2009, I made all the seams with a twin needle. The fabric is a 4-way, thin but sturdy super soft black jersey I got at the Holland market a few months back. It feels like a great quality that won’t pill when washed. I think I got it for 4€/m. I lengthened the sleeves a few centimeters to have them gather at the wrists and reinforced the neckline with an interfacing bias strip so that it’d hold its shape. I love love love it and it’s a quick project I’d encourage anyone to go for. The Lydia pattern is designed for 2-way jersey so this is a “roomy” cozy with dropped shoulders, which really doesn’t bother me, since I like that gathered sleeves look. If I do it again with a 4-way and I might make it up again in another color, I’ll make sure to cut a size or 2 smaller, jusk like Lauriana advised (but I read this as the cosy was done). Also, Burdastyle patterns have seam and hem allowances included and I didn’t think about cutting away the hem allowance so it’s probably a bit longer than your regular shirt in the back but really, I like it. I love the versatility. This is a must have!

I apologize for the shirt but I was looking for a contrasting shirt since black is so hard to photograph and this is the first one I got my hands on. And I had just been at the dentist and felt you could see that from the pictures so I cropped them 🙂 Anyway, it feels great to be able to read such posts without a pang. Videos on how to wear the cozy are on dkny or youtube (also from dkny and from private for warm weather-friendly ways).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2010 22:33

    What a beautiful job you did on this! And, I must thank you for giving the DKNY link on how to wear it. I bought one of these at TJMaxx a few months ago and I had no idea that there were so many ways to wear it!

    My daughters will be impressed that Mom is so fashion forward – without their help! 😉

    Smiles,
    Crystal

    Like

  2. January 25, 2010 20:25

    Great job!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

