Skip to content

Hippie Style Coat

November 21, 2011

This is the attempt to not make DM (formerly named DD on this blog) associate the birth of DN with mommy sewing less stuff for her or giving up sewing altogether. I have no plans of sewing for DN yet because 1) I got a LOT from the family (I have 3 nieces) and 2) I don’t think sewing for babies is worth the time and effort considering how fast they outgrow their clothing. I will definitely make things for her when she’s grown a bit, though.

This was also a test to find out 1) if I still know how sewing goes (it’s been an eternity!), 2) how to fit it in my new life schedulewise, and 3) how well my body and especially my pelvis bears with this activity. So I’d say 1) I still know how sewing goes, 2) it’s too bad I don’t have a permanent sewing corner where I could effectively use any spare minute without having to pack out my sewing machine and tools first, and 3) if I listen to my body and stop when my pelvis and back call for it, it’s all good.

Here’s the result:

The fabric is the same as in the magazine (outdoor outside fabric, thin interlining and fleece inner fabric, all 3 quilted together) but in cream i.e. it is the jacket is warm without the need of a lining or interlining. I made a size 116 with the pockets of size 146 because the pockets seemed on the small size on the magazine pictures. I’m happy with them, though I think the size 116 pockets would have been fine too. I skipped the snaps in the front. Also, because the instructions for applying the zipper are incomplete, I had to improvise the finishing in the front, which I did with bias as seen on the pics. No further change other than the embellishment, which I made after sewing the hood to make sure it would be visible at all times. It fulfills all of DM’s current wishes: a mermaid, a princess, blonde. DM is happy and so is mommy.

Since the deadline is approaching fast and I’m not inclined to sew for my weekly changing shape, the next post should be about the wedding dress

14 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2011 21:23

    I love it!! The mermaid is fabulous. The contrast facings are adorable. It looks warm and snuggly and just perfect. You are amazing!!

    Like

    • November 21, 2011 21:48

      Thank you! You make the cutest clothing for your kids so your words mean a lot to me 🙂

      Like

  2. Gabrielle permalink
    November 22, 2011 13:55

    This coat is absolutely gorgeous – I would say you’ve evidently forgotten NOTHING! I am sure your daughter will feel very special in this.

    Like

  3. homejewel permalink
    November 22, 2011 17:57

    Congratulations on the birth of your sweet baby. I was glad to see you put up a new project in mysewingcircle and then found your blog! I, too, have had the same pelvic issues during pregnancy and after and feel your pain. Hope you get well.

    Like

    • November 22, 2011 21:02

      Thank you! It feels good to read that someone else suffered from that, I’ve been feeling like an alien for months lol

      Like

  4. laetitia permalink
    November 23, 2011 09:44

    quelle veinarde ta grande DM! C’est magnifique. Flora adore la fée/sirène, bravo!

    Like

  5. sand permalink
    November 23, 2011 11:58

    wahou j’adore la transformation!!!
    Trop beau!
    je t’embrasse bien fort

    Like

  6. November 28, 2011 20:04

    Tout simplement ma-gni-fique !!!

    Like

  7. November 29, 2011 06:52

    quel travail, 🙂 bravo

    Like

  8. November 29, 2011 14:07

    Je viens de voir ce manteau sur le blog Ottobre. Ouah, chapeau ! Il est magnifique. Peux-tu me dire qn français quels sont les tissus utilisés et où tu les as trouvés ? Merci.

    Like

  9. November 29, 2011 19:59

    ce manteau est une vraie réussite, bravo à toi !!

    Like

  10. Lucie permalink
    November 30, 2011 18:24

    Mais c’est de toute beaué.Comme elle doit être fière de le porter. Toutes mes Félicitations!

    d’une mamie du Québec en vacances au Mexique

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Looking Back on 2011 « Lin3arossa's Blog
  2. Sustainable Sewing « Lin3arossa's Blog

Leave a comment