Skip to content

How to tell I’m on holiday

December 29, 2010

When I’m sewing like crazy and/or trying out new recipes, it’s that time again. Do you know the situation where you don’t know what to wear despite a full closet? Do you know when the same happens in the kitchen: not knowing what to cook despite a full refrigerator? Maybe it’s because of this similarity that I once in a while feel the need to report about my cooking/baking on my sewing blog… In the first situation, I’d sift my stash, patterns and pattern magazines and take my sewing machine out. In the latter, I surf cooking and baking websites for inspiration. I especially like to try more time-consuming recipes that I wouldn’t be able to whip up after work in my daily life. The following ones are from a couple of cooking websites I discovered not too long ago, smitten kitchen and delicious:days, which I can only recommend:

Spare Ribs: I upped the salt a bit (1.5-fold) and substituted garlic powder for fresh garlic (1 clove = 1/8 tsp dry). Worked well. My oven is in degrees Celsius and I had so much in my mind when I made this that I set my oven to 200 degrees Celsius! I realized and corrected my mistake when there had been in the oven for about an hour. The meat came out tender despite this. A great recipe.

Tiramisu cake: Yummy. Even DD, who doesn’t eat cake, had it and I let her. It’s only 2 tbsp of amaretto after all. I especially like the chocolate chips between the layers. Next time I might make more syrup because I think the cakes could be a bit more moist. And I might bake the cake at once and then cut it in two horizontally after baking too. Still: 2 thumbs up.

Ensaimadas: Not good for my hip measurement (lard?) but delicious. I didn’t use up the lard, despite being generous with it so next time 100g will do. A bit time-consuming but a definite keeper.

Some other recipes I tried:

Pear and maple syrup cake: Nothing to change about this one.

Also, these Kiflice would be perfect for a party because you make 40 of them on one recipe and they taste best warm from the oven. I had to make a bit more filling (1.5-fold) to use up the dough.

Planned for New Year’s Eve: Osso Bucco

6 Comments leave one →
  1. CGCouture permalink
    December 30, 2010 05:41

    *Sigh* I love breads, so a couple of those are definitely piquing my interest. Thanks for the links! And the droolworthy pictures. 🙂

    Like

  2. December 31, 2010 01:27

    Gracious–you did it again! I seem to recall that last year at this time you posted some great recipes. This year (tomorrow) I’m making the ribs. Thank you (again) for providing such great inspiration for clothing and meals. I wish you and your family a very happy and health New Year!

    Rose in SV (who read this blog entry while at work and immediately had to wipe the drool off her keyboard)

    Like

    • December 31, 2010 01:49

      Thank you Rose! I’m relieved to read that at least some readers are not annoyed and maybe even inspired by these cooking/baking posts! They always happen when I’m spending my holidays home. Wishing you a great Year 2011 as well!

      Like

  3. January 2, 2011 19:44

    oh my godddd… i wasn’t expecting to stop by your blog and end up drooling all over myself! Everything you posted looks amazing, i love spare ribs and those buns look out of this world!!

    Like

  4. January 7, 2011 14:27

    Glad you enjoyed the kiflice – I still have a bag of them in the freezer for when my Serbian father in law visits – they were snowed in in Oxfordshire over Christmas so we’ve still not seen them.

    Happy Baking in 2011!

    Like

Leave a comment