Skip to content

Bits and bites

November 25, 2016

I’m member in quite a few online sewing communities, such as Burdastyle, which I have the feeling is slowly dying, My Sewing Circle, PatternReviewKollabora, which newsletter I like for the featured projects, and lately, the Foldline, which newsletter feature I like the most is the latest pattern releases. They’ve made me discover a number of indie sewing companies. This week, I added Gimlet to my seWant list, and I was going to do the same with the Imagine dress from the new to me French Indi company Louis Antoinette, when I found out that they are giving it away for a limited time, as part of a sewing competition. If you’re interested, follow the link and click on J’y vais in the popup window. I think the dress is really lovely, though it means bra shopping not to spoil that back view.

I also have The last stitch in my blog reader, and she posted about the podcasts she listens to. I don’t listen to podcasts. Well, I used to not listen to podcasts. Here are the ones I listen to now:

  • Clothes making mavens: My favorite right now.
  • Sew forth now: Actually an archive so some of the links listed in the show notes may not work anymore but the interviews are still very interesting to listen to.
  • The wild stitch: not everything they talk about is relevant to me, as they are more directed toward the indie companies, but I still like to listen.
  • The green stitch: Honestly, I haven’t listen to this one yet, but I just heard discovered it through the Sew Forth Now today.It looks like the blogcast is still up but the podcasts are not available anymore.

Do you listen to podcasts? Tell me which ones.

No comments yet

Leave a comment