Skip to content

Vogue Patterns Fall 2017

August 3, 2017

linkSigns that the summer that never really settled in will be fading soon: it’s summer clearance in the shops, and sewing pattern companies are releasing their Fall collections, as Vogue Patterns did today. I’m rather disappointed in this one, and almost feel deceived. Why deceived? McCall’s Pattern Company had a few videos up in their instagram stories last week, showing some of the garments to the fall patterns, one of which was V1559.

Carlos showed it with a shoulder cover up and without, making it a two–in-one dress. This is something I was looking forward to, so I was unpleasantly surprised to see that the cover up is not included in the pattern. The beginning of the video showing the shrug has been edited off. Now I’m not even sure I want to buy the pattern anymore. The underarm holes look weird to me and I understand this may be a design feature, and I know a regular seam would be restrictive there but how about a gusset? I guess one could draft a gusset, right? But what I really want is that cover up/shrug, or at least a picture thereof, so I could try and draft it… Anyway, on to the other patterns that caught my eyes…

I like the look of V1562 from Lialia by Julia Alarcon, but the neck is too open for our fall and winter here in Hamburg. So I think I’m going to have to pass…

V9266 is a copycat of Melania Trump’s inauguration attire. As a set it’s too recognizable as such and too mother-of-the-bride-y for me to buy, but I like the dress, the neck darts make me think of my Talvikki, which I like a lot (garment is unblogged). The bolero closes left over right, contrary to the convention but typical for Ralph Lauren.

I like V1558 by Rachel Comey, more because of the instagram post than based on the pictures on the pattern’s page, really.

Anne Klein does not disappoint with V1560. Always classy and classical.

I really like V9267 with the many options and it’s custom fit so no FBA required! Vogue did a good job at pattern matching on the bodice center front seam here.

V1552 by Sandra Betzina and V9268 by Kathryn Brenne are like cousins, if not sisters!

What are your thoughts on this collection?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2017 09:20

    Yeah I’m strangely disappointed in this one too. But I think there are compensations. The Guy Laroche dress they led with just doesn’t do it for me. But I like the Rachel Comey one you picked out and the Melania Trump inauguration knockoff. I also liked the Zandra Rhodes jacket. But where is Rebecca Vallance this time?

    Like

  2. August 4, 2017 09:44

    Of your choices I like the last two styles best. The top dress has pockets in the wrong place for me, and the underarm thing and wide neckline is just too impractical, but for the right person it could be stunning. I liked the Melania outfit, but the mood has passed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

