Skip to content

Quiet Trend (Mock-)Knot Style?

June 22, 2017

Still playing catching up with Instagram

The loudest trend of the year is definitely the Sleeve trend and it almost made me “overhear” this (mock-)knot style trend. Couple of examples are the Kielo Wrap dress by Named Clothing , the Trend patterns Knot Front Dress (which incorporates the cutout trend), Burda 05-2017-110 or Burda 03-2016-108. Not from this year but appropriate: Vogue 1310 by Chado Ralph Rucci, that may be worn as a dress.

I hopped on this bandwagon with the Juliet Woven Shirt by StyleArc, which also features the still quite popular mullet hem:

DSC_0044DSC_0028_32DSC_0014_35

My fabric is a linen with lurex stripes. It is quite see-through so I have to wear it with a tank underneath, which is the reason why I skipped the buttons so far despite having actually bought them… As you can see, I did wear it without the buttons and was considering adding only a single one at waist level but after test riding it, I will be adding the buttons as intended by the designer.

The instructions from Stylearc are quite brief as usual, with images provided only for a couple of key steps.

I made a regular 3-cm FBA on the left side, than cut the right side at the waist marking and transferring the FBA to the upper body. I then slashed the lower right front from waist to hem and opened it the 3 cm of my FBA, tapering to nothing at the hem. Worked a charm.

I love the play of the stripes. I wore this shirt on my first day of work at my new job and  it felt good 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 24, 2017 04:04

    Great shirt and it looks nice on you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

