Skip to content

StyleArc Autum Dress for the Summer

June 20, 2017

If you follow me on Instagram, you know that I’ve been sewing a bit, albeit barely blogging. I have a new job and have also spent the best of the last weeks alone with the girls so had to prioritize but I’m now trying to work on my backlog. First comes the Autumn dress by Stylearc.

As I stated before, StyleArc’s instructions are held to a minimum. Also to me, the illustration showing the back pleat was misleading and I ended up ignoring it and relying on the technical design, the “pleat” and “center back” marks and my common sense to figure it out. I shot a picture:

Only alteration was a fba according to Maria Denmark’s tutorial for no-dart fronts. I also finished the hem by hemming it with bias instead of turning it up and sew as instructed.

Make sure to pick a lightweight fabric because there is a lot of fabric involved in that back pleat and it would weigh down the yoke if too heavy.

DSC_0026_29DSC_0016_35DSC_0005

3 Comments leave one →
  1. sewbussted permalink
    June 20, 2017 22:21

    What a fun, easy dress for summer. Love the pattern with the polka dots too!

    Like

  2. June 21, 2017 16:28

    I like this. Nice summer dress.

    Like

  3. June 25, 2017 09:52

    I love the back pleat detail on this. Very sophisticated.

    Like

Leave a Reply

