Skip to content

Vogue Patterns Summer 2017

April 7, 2017

You can tell my enthusiasm doesn’t rocket high when it takes a week for me to review Vogue’s latest release. Though I have to attenuate that, I guess this is just one of those case where you have to look at the patterns several times to let them grow on you. Here are my thoughts:

I liked Vogue 1544 from Tom and Linda Platt right away. Dresses with a highligh in the back like this are simple, classic, very Breakfast at Tiffany’s, to me 🙂

v1544_a

Vogue 1550 by Paco Peralta is fashion and art teacher-y (without wanting to offense any art teacher) at the same time. I like it, especially with the length options.

v1550_a

Vogue 1542 By Patricia Jeanne Keay is something I would make for myself (without the embelishment but I may than wear it with a brooch) or for my daughter (with the embellishment). It would fit and flatter a variety of figures.

v1542_1

Vogue 1548 by Guy Laroche is growing on me. To be honest, I would skip the sleeves and make it either sleeveless or with cap sleeves. I don’t think many people could rock them and I don’t like long sleeves on dresses anyway. The cleavage may have to be made less generous. And that ruffle hem band, I don’t know… The skirt does need to be lengthened, that’s for sure. But as is, it looks like it would become a tulip skirt. I think a pencil skirt or a flare pleated skirt would be more flattering. Anyhow, there’s potential there.

v1548_1

Vogue 1543 by Anne Klein I like, but those pleats in chiffon may be challenging to sew… Vogue 9256 by Kathryn Brenne makes me think of scrubs with a twist, but I like view B of V9263 by Kathryn Brenne. V9252 would be nice in a wax fabric, with the wrong side showing…

What are your picks?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. sewbussted permalink
    April 7, 2017 14:12

    I’ve ordered your first 2 choices. There was a Very Easy Vogue pattern that had a super cute top which I ordered too. For me it was a love or hate situation with the selection. There was a cute little dress with capri tights that would look so, so cute on your sweet little munchkins 😊

    Like

    • April 7, 2017 14:28

      Yes, I know which one you’re talking about. Yes, it’s a cutie 🙂

      Like

  2. April 7, 2017 20:12

    I like the T&L Platt, the red ress and now I’ve let it sink in, the white one too – longer, worth trying the sleeves I think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

