Skip to content

Vogue Patterns: Winter/Holiday 2015

September 24, 2015

Have you had a look at the newly released Vogue patterns? For me there are two clear winners:

V1469 by Lialia:

Makes me think of a new and improved OOP Butterick 5780:

V9145 by Claire Schaeffer, though I admit that 4 meters of fabric for a dress is a lot:

Patterns I like with a “but” are

V1472 by Lorcan Mullany by Bellville Sassoon, but I would use a walking foot for those side seams.

In principle, it reminds me of OOP V1195 by Badgley Mischka that I also liked at the time:

V1475 by Badgley Mischka, but without the sleeves:

V1474 by Tom and Linda Platt, I like but I haven’t gone bra-less since I was like 13…

V1480 by DonnaKaran I like the tech drawing of pants but the top makes me think of a maternity garment, and the fabric choice is patently wrong for both IMHO:

And then this last one just confuses me/leaves me perplex, V1470 by Tom and Linda Platt:

A dress that wants to look like a tunic and skirt? But what’s the sense of that spiraling hem? This one, for me, is like an accident: you can’t look at it but you can’t look away.

All in all I think this a not as festive as I’m used to seeing for the Holiday collection. I’m a little sad not to be wow-ed by the new designers, Nicola Finetti and Zandra Rhodes.What’s your take on the new collection?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sewbussted permalink
    September 24, 2015 12:14

    I was left completely underwhelmed by all that I saw. The only piece that I thought interesting was the Claire Schaefer dress. It takes a lot of fabric, but I like a swishing dress🙂

    Like

  2. October 2, 2015 12:01

    I haven’t had the time to glance on the Vogue patterns for this year’s autumn/winter collection. But I definitely love the last pattern! I might make a few adjustments to it like maybe removing the sleeves and create an asymmetric neckline.

    Like

Leave a Reply

