Skip to content

Simplicity Too Late to my Minions Party

August 21, 2015

Simplicity latest release newsletter hit my inbox yesterday, and this is what I saw first:

It’s a child’s minion costume. Well, DM will be back in school in less than a week and this was our summer holiday project:

(suspenders were later secured)

OK, they’re no costume, they’re worry eaters, but I think after sewing these and eating all things minions this summer, the hype will be over come Halloween. This was a fun summer project. DM (now 8) first sketched the minion, then draw the pattern with a bit of help from me. We then bought the fabrics, cut and sew them together. I’d make one seam on a worry eater and she’d come sew the same seam on the other one. I made all the really curvy ones like the fingers but all in all, she was able to contribute a lot. This happened in the weekends over 4-5 weeks. The minions worry eaters were actually gifts (one of them for DN) but based on the same pattern, we also made her a monster worry eater:

This one was finished on time for her to take it to her visit to her cousins in France and when she came back, there was a small paper inside written with “Ich habe heimweh” (“I’m homesick”) that she threw away. Ain’t that cute?

So there. Nice idea, Simplicity, but I think I’ll pass. This coat pattern from Mimi G, however, I might have to get…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Laetitia permalink
    August 21, 2015 09:30

    Trop forte DM!! Vous devez adorer partager ces moments toutes les deux. Bisous.

    Like

  2. sewbussted permalink
    August 21, 2015 12:53

    What fun summer projects! Love the zippered mouth on the worry eater.

    Like

  3. September 25, 2015 23:00

    Gorgeous! I love his little mean eyes, big mouth and a general tendency towards scruffiness.

    (Confession time: I’ve not heard of worry eaters before)

    Like

Leave a Reply

