Skip to content

Skull Cookie Blouson

May 15, 2015

I spent January drooling over all the Rigel bomber jackets uploaded all over the blogosphere. And while I liked that pattern, there was another one that attracted me even more: the Cookie Blouson by Waffle patterns. And when I stumbled upon this Skull Print Scuba Bodycon Stretch Jersey Dress Fabric by Minerva Crafts while trying to source neoprene/scuba knit online, the match was made instantly, at least mentally:

Alterations done:

  • 2.5 cm FBA, added as a classic FBA-dart that was rotated into the front gathers
  • round shoulder alteration
  • added piping to the yoke
  • added a lining
  • skipped topstiching because of the fabric (slippery jersey!)

The end results looks exactly like as pictured on the pattern. Except that the sleeves, although not short on me, are far from being as long as they appear on Yuki.

The only thing that could be better are the pockets: they could be a smidge bigger. On the other hand, I love the high collar that can protect my neck in the chilly spring weather. I think that’s what drew me to this pattern instead of the Rigel.

The instructions are fine. I only wish she would have included the lining instructions in the main pattern instructions instead of adding them as a tutorial series on her blog.

I love this jacket already. It’s going to get a lot of wear.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2015 11:16

    I don’t really like bomber jackets (well more I don’t like the band on the waist and that makes it a bomber I guess). I also didn’t get the who ha over the Rigel but I really like this style. It’s a bit more interesting. Great fabric!

    Like

  2. May 19, 2015 21:29

    I love love love the fun print! Thank you so much sharing this. I’m so happy to see my pattern turns to creative clothe! yuki@wafflepatterns

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Sewing Indie Month Bundle | Lin3arossa

Leave a Reply

