Skip to content

Long coming maxi

September 11, 2014
tags: ,

Is it too late to post about this maxi dress I made this summer? I’ve had this fabric for a long time and I mentally paired it with B5178 almost as soon as I bought it so why did it take so long to finally make it? I don’t know. But I would hate to take equally as long to post about it.

It’s an unspectacular make and I have only one recommendation if you go for this pattern: make the size based on your high bust measurement, without any modification. Of course, that’s not what I did and as you can see, I have to wear a tank underneath. It could also be due to the fact that the fabric has a little more stretch than a moderate stretch knit, without being a slinky or 4-way knit.I probably will alter it before wearing next summer. At any rate, this has been really comfortable to wear on hot summer days.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. sewbussted permalink
    September 11, 2014 13:35

    The dress is so pretty and looks to be very comfortable. It’s a shame that you have to wear a camisole with it. Hopefully you will be able to alter it a bit.

    Like

  2. September 11, 2014 16:48

    What a great use of a unique fabric! Could you add a gusset/modesty panel to the underarms with leftover fabric? That way it could be a “design feature”.

    Like

  3. September 11, 2014 22:17

    Very beautiful dress and fabric.

    Like

  4. September 14, 2014 13:55

    The dress is quite beautiful and judging by the current weather forecasts you’ll still get some wear outt of it this year!
    Thanks for your comment on my “grid print + culottes” post :). I’ve replied there saying that I think you’re right, the top is not perfect fit wise: the bust point is slightly higher than my figure… But the pulling effect was enhanced by two other factors. Usually when taking outfit photos I pull my shoulders back and inspire into a full chest, looking slightly up; usually the photo is more flattering on me that way, but with some tops/shirts I get those dragged lines… I was (am) in that time of the month too ;), adding to a fuller chest.
    Hugs from Portugal 🙂
    .

    Like

Leave a Reply

