Skip to content

Back to School Outfit

September 11, 2014

When this tutorial popped up a few weeks ago, I was sold. Basically, it was about frankenpatterning like this:

Elodie

+

Redondo

=

Elidondo

Two patterns I have and have made before? It sounded like a winner. Both patterns are drafted for woven but I had modified the Elodie dress for knits before so I figure I could do the same with Elidondo. So I set myself to work and when almost done, had DM try it on… and she did like it. Nor did I. So bad she refused to have herself photographed in it.  I really don’t know what it was, but I suspect switching to knit and changing the skirt from five to six godets to account for my alternating fabrics was part of it. You can see that the drape is not the same on her skirt as on the tutorial model. Anyway. What was to do? I was not ready to just trash it. Back-to-school day was almost upon us. So I took a deep breath and cut it at waist level, hemmed the top and cut a strip of fabric to make an elastic casing for the bottom – now the skirt- without losing any length. And the results was a happy camper on back to school day *relief*:

Show me the front:

 

Show me the back:

Now twirl!

That’s what a happy second grader looks like.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sewbussted permalink
    September 11, 2014 16:12

    Nothing better than a twirling skirt, regardless of how old you are!

    Like

  2. September 14, 2014 04:13

    Good for you on improvising. It looks like she enjoyed wearing this outfit. I have a 2nd grader too and she is quick to tell me when something I’ve made for her is a little “off”. Lol!

    Like

Leave a Reply

