Skip to content

Green Cobold Sweaterdress and Matching Skirt

September 2, 2014

No wonder, after the “now and then” post series and the last “Ottobre” issue landed in the mail, that I decided to sew something for my girls before going on with the selfish sewing.

1420

The main fabric is from stash, from an internet auction won years ago, where the color of the fabric was not what I had envisioned when looking at the pictures on my computer screen. But somehow, kids have the ability to rock colors and patterns that would look totally wrong or at least clownesque on an adult. The skirt and hood lining lip print fabric is a single jersey from the remnant bin at my local fabric shop, totally haute couture! I was lucky enough to have this blog post pop up on my reader while I was sewing this combi, too.

The sweatshirt dress went together pretty well. Event the polo-style opening was a breeze to sew. The only issue I had was with topstitching the binding to the hood. My machine wouldn’t make even stitches so I gave it up after quite a few tries and sew it by hand. I used a dark thread that makes my hand sewing somewhat visible, which I’m not sure if it should be considered a fault or an embellishment. Can you spot it?

I’m debating on whether or not to add blue snap fasteners. What do you think?

What definitely is an embellishment, is my very first machine embroidery in the 2 years I’ve owned my Brother Innov-Is (although I’ve been regularly saving free machine embroidery patterns, for example from urbanthreads.com; shame on me):

The skirt is a one-piece pattern. The one piece is cut 4 times, the pieces sewn together, elastic inserted at the foldover waist casing, hem it and call it a day. The skirt has no front and back, ideal for “look! I can dress alone” kids. It’s shown as a layering piece and that’s exactly how DN will wear it:

1220

 

 

Pics taken at pick-up time at the daycare. She-just-wouldn’t-stay-still. Man, do I wish I had that much energy at the end of the day!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. sewbussted permalink
    September 3, 2014 13:12

    The energy shots are the best 🙂
    Oh, I want this child’s wardrobe!!!!! You are just the best mom!

    Like

  2. September 5, 2014 11:51

    Oh man, that is just too cute. Congrats on getting it featured.
    Katie

    Like

  3. September 14, 2014 21:23

    Magnifique, j’adore
    Bravo

    Like

Leave a Reply

