Skip to content

Side Panel Hypnotic Dress

August 16, 2014

This dress could possibly be used at the ophthalmologist to test one’s ability to focus.

The fabric is a sturdy linen, the dress is not lined and has an invisible side zipper. I was worried about sewing all those curves but the panels were surprisingly easy to sew together. The first challenge for me was to squeeze it out of 1.5 meters, knowing I absolutely wanted the side panels to match. And that’s the reason I ended up rather with a tunic than a dress. But one I like. The second challenge was that I was unsure on how to do a FBA so I did a cheat FBA but it was pretty clear at first fitting that that was not enough, so I had to let out the side seams. I actually think I should have done either: 1. a princess FBA on right and left separately or 2. a no-dart front FBA on each side separately, followed by a rotation of the dart into the sewing line. Oh well, in the end I made it work and that’s the most important, right?

One Comment leave one →
  1. sewbussted permalink
    August 16, 2014 11:56

    Love the print and it’s so cute with the leggings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

