Skip to content

The Hug Drape Sweater

October 28, 2013
tags: ,

I have hoarded quite a few issues of Knipmode (thanks to Melissa‘s reviews) but sewn nothing from them. Not anymore! I got this particular issue (September 2009) because of an Oprah Winfrey dress knockoff but it’s this sweater that got made first:

Here’s mine, still waiting to be worn, because the fabric is a mohair blend (doubled in front, as per pattern) and the weather just hasn’t been cold enough for me to wear it yet. Not that I’m complaining about the weather, mind you.

It looks much better when filled with a real bust than sadly hanging but I’m trying not to procrastinate the blogging like I’ve been doing for months now 🙂

I really didn’t want to think too much about a FBA on this one so since it’s a knit, I simply graded from a 42 at the neck to 46 at full bust/armhole to a 44 at the hips, then since it’s knit, sew the side and sleeve seam in one go at the end, allowing me to adjust the fit. I love the extra long sleeves, which I sew a thumb hole in, allowing me to wear it with that slight variation. The sweater is quite long, just like in the magazine, I might go back and shorten it, we’ll see…

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 28, 2013 17:47

    Oooh I love that knit pattern. Can’t wait to see it on. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

