Skip to content

Déjà vu

July 10, 2013

Edited to add:

Toy posted some pics of even more variations on the sunray dress theme:

Both dresses from London Times Fashion.

Original post:

I stumbled upon what striked me as a woven pendant to Butterick 5559, the sunray dress by Maggy London. It’s the Amanda Wakeley satin fold dress, which I think would look even better in a non-shiny fabric:

37619FAW_1

37619FAW_237619FAW_3

As a reminder, here’s Butterick knit version:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2013 17:29

    I have been enjoying your ‘series’ of starburst pleated dresses; this is how my staunch belief in copyright was sloooowly eroded. Here’s an idea. Here’s a better version. Here’s another version that someone came up with without seeing the first. They are all valid ideas, and the magpie in me will take the bits that I need from all of them. I will sew one up, my friend N will see it, knock out a pattern with her variations, and sell them in her dressmaking business.

    On the other side of the topic…Fitting would be harder in woven, but isn’t that the challenge?

    Like

  2. July 10, 2013 20:03

    I think there are a lot of such Déjà vu´s at this moment.
    Anyway I think as well it would look better in less shining fabric…

    Like

Leave a Reply

