Skip to content

2-in-1 Akris-style Turtleneck

March 19, 2013

I’m still alive. Sewing, and knitting too. In fact, this knitting project might be one the reason of less sewing happening around here. I always tell myself I’ll knit in the subway on my way to and from work and sew when I’m home but I find it hard to “neglect” an ongoing knitting project when I’m home. And so in the evening I find myself knitting on the couch while I had planned to be sewing. Does anyone have the same issue?

Anyway, this designer knockoff pattern was released online for free in 2007 by the german magazine Für Sie (For Her). Eventually, they redesigned their website, after which all knitting patterns disappeared, including those the Selfish Seamstress had linked to. Subsequently released knitting pattern are still available here though, but I would advise downloading and saving the instructions of those you’re interested in, just in case. For this particular pattern, I was lucky enough to have the instructions sent to me by a fellow Raveler. The garn I used is Mussante from GGH, a german company. It’s 37% wool, 30% rayon, 20% nylon (Polyamide), 8% angora, 5% cashmere, was a joy to knit with and is a joy to wear. I modified the pattern in that I made a separate cowl neck, much like this sweater by Tany. I also knit in the round instead of doing a front and back. All the notes to the project are on my Ravelry account.

The original design by Akris, Fall 2006 collection:

00110m_medium

My version:

My wool is not as thick as the original but I like the end result nonetheless.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2013 23:37

    ooh…I LIKE this sweater! Batwings and all…thanks for the info on where to get it…I’ve emailed Tammina.

    Like

  2. March 20, 2013 14:11

    Look good, I haven’t knit for so long. I think you did a great job

    Like

Leave a Reply

