Skip to content

Magic meets Peplum

October 20, 2012

My inspiration:

My first draft:

Close-up on the problem:

The cause for this issue might be that instead of drafting my own bodice sloper as foreseen in the book, I took the Burda bodice, made a FBA and then proceeded to do the pattern magic. In any case, if you’re interested in the drafting, have a look at these posts: fashion incubator 1 and 2, Carolyn, Sew2Pro, SewingForFun, theMaterialGirl.

No idea when I’ll be able to make some progress on this project but I’ll make sure to post it…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2012 08:14

    Hello, I joined a pattern magic class before and the teacher said the dimensions given in the book don’t quite work with other slopers (it was a students’ question). I think the bunka sloper has 4 waist darts in the front and sometimes those darts are ignored. The teacher also suggested us to fold the pattern paper after drafting to see if it works before cutting out. Hope it helps! 🙂

    Like

    • October 25, 2012 11:35

      It did work with the Burda pattern after all, the second muslin is done!

      Like

  2. October 29, 2012 12:08

    Oh, I’m so excited that you’re doing this: the bamboo shoot is such an elegant design. Good luck and looking forward to the reveal!

    Like

Leave a Reply

