Skip to content

Firefighter Red Sophia coat

October 11, 2012

The pictures are a bit overexposed but trust me, this coat is red and not orange:

First Frecnh tacks ever

I’m happy I didn’t interline the coat, I think it could have ruined the draping effect in front. Time will tell if it’s warm enough to go through the winter.

The pocket tab I was talking about in my last post connects the seam allowance of the pocket bag with that of the front facing, which means I cannot fully pull the pockets inside out. I think the purpose of these tabs is to keep the pockets bags from flipping to the back of the coat.

Quite unusually, the pocket facings are to the back/to the bottom of the pocket bags. Fortunately, I understitched the front/top of the pocket bags, so the lining won’t be showing, despite the absence of a facing there. I didn’t quite understand the instructions for the pockets but these are in-seam pockets so nothing too complicated. It’s also the only issue I had with the instructions.

I’m willing to model the coat, as soon as I have resolved its one issue, which I hope you can help me with. I mentioned in my first post that I had mistakenly applied the fusible interfacing to the right side of the sleeves hem. I noticed my mistake and removed the interfacing, but have yet to find a way to get rid of the glue residue:

Any idea how to do this without damaging the fabric, which has a nap?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2012 17:42

    Beautiful coat, both inside and out! I wish I could help you with your interfacing problem — I’m curious to hear if anyone has a tried and true fix for that.

    Like

  2. fittingissues permalink
    October 13, 2012 15:38

    Suggest, if you haven’t already done this, apply your fusible to a scrap of your fabric and take it back off to test different ways to remove.

    Years ago I dripped candle wax on to a wool coat and my Granny suggested (dry) ironing brown paper (ordinary brown parcel paper) over it until it went – it worked, no idea how, and candle wax is different to glue, but worth testing on a scrap?

    Good luck with it. We all need the answer to this one …

    Like

  3. Marita permalink
    October 26, 2012 20:02

    I’d prolly try a razor, if you happen to have a Gillette or something similar at hand, of course I’d test it on a scrap first…. just a suggestion.

    Like

  4. Marita permalink
    October 26, 2012 20:04

    Oh damn, forgot to say your coat is beautiful and I hope you can get the glue off:)

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Spring Red Jacket | Lin3arossa

Leave a Reply

