Skip to content

Pattern Sighting

September 19, 2012

I just came across an unknown-to-me independent designer, Deer and Joe. I like her Belladonna dress a lot.

I love the new Abbey coat pattern by Jamie Christina. Perfect for the upcoming fall! I know her Mission Maxi dress also got several good reviews (eg here, here and here).

Also, the Kelly skirt by Megan Nielsen, which is somewhat reminiscent but still resolutely different from the Beignet skirt by Colette, is a fast-seller. And addictive, as I have yet to come across a hobby seamstress and blogger that only made it once. And from what I’ve read, it qualifies as stash/remnant-buster. I loved following her blog while she was pregnant and she shares great tips on starting your own business on a small budget.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2012 14:31

    I have just been to the Deer and Joe website. I love their patterns. Wow. So interesting. And it is in french. I wonder if they have english instructions as well. I think they would sell alot more if they also offered english instructions. I won’t have any problem with their patterns as I understand french, but many english bloggers might struggle.

    Like

    • September 21, 2012 12:42

      The patterns don’t come with instructions in English but she’s working on it!

      Like

  2. September 20, 2012 04:48

    Thanks for passing that on. I’d hadn’t heard of them before

    Like

  3. September 20, 2012 06:42

    It is great that so many independent new designers are popping up.
    I read your post about lingerie, and yup, making your own is addictive and highly satistying! I’ve had really great results from a Kwiksew bra pattern, and I use my tried and true McCalls bikini pattern to make my own undies. Works everytime 🙂
    Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

