Skip to content

The Unexpected Muslin – Vena Cava Vogue 1258

February 7, 2012

My bad. I chose a stable cotton knit and although it makes the dress as comfy as a t-shirt, it doesn’t use the “wow”-factor of the pattern to its fullest. I think that’s what’s keeping me from hemming it at the moment. I’m picturing this in a viscose jersey in some kind of red or maybe even in a feline print.

What I like about this dress is that it’s a rather easy sew for a designer pattern: only 21 steps, which is way underaverage for Vogue. It hides what’s left of my front bump and makes a flattering figure from the front and back. The puffiness is not as flattering on the side view but I can live with that. I like that it has pockets. The main dislike is that it’s not nursing-friendly but hey, I won’t be nursing forever. Mama’ll get her groove back eventually! Also, it doesn’t allow for big steps but again, it might be due to the fabric rather than a characteristic of the pattern.

Let me know what you think

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2012 01:09

    I too did not use a slinky knit so I wonder if it is worth a do over. I’m going to try and tweak the one I’ve started but I don’t think I will try again. If I could just get some of that puffiness out the front I would be happy….maybe do more pleating. The grey is looks really cute.

    Like

  2. February 8, 2012 05:11

    I want to make this one!

    Like

  3. Serenity permalink
    February 8, 2012 06:06

    Hem it and use it as Tim Gunn’s sweatsuit alternative. You will be super chic at the grocery store and/or playground…

    Like

  4. February 8, 2012 08:31

    Maybe it’s lack of imagination but I like it in the grey! Red would be awesome though. Wasn’t keen on this one when I saw the pattern pic but it seems to make up really well.

    Like

  5. jacquie permalink
    February 8, 2012 14:33

    I love it in grey! It looks great.

    Like

  6. March 10, 2012 02:04

    oh wow! That is hot. Make it in red!

    Like

  7. sand permalink
    April 5, 2012 19:37

    wahou super j’aimeeeeeee!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Vena Cava – The End « Lin3arossa's Blog
  2. A Legend Come True « Lin3arossa
  3. Decisions Decisions – Poll Post | Lin3arossa

Leave a Reply

