Skip to content

Novita v. 1.1

May 22, 2011

This top was made back in February as a try to make the best of sitting home and taking care of a sick (but rather fit) 3 yo. I already had Novita traced and the fabric picked, so this second version was made in no time. I did make an adjustment: I cut the front 1 cm away from the fold and lengthened the neckline bias to account for this. It doesn’t make any difference on the back view. Upfront,  the neckline is a bit broader and feels like it could slide sideways on the shoulders (though it doesn’t). However, I like this side view a lot better:

The middle front curving inways (even despite my bump) is more flattering. The fabric is an Italian cotton that I got from Ebay. Given the large flower pattern, it called for a design with as few seams as possible.

Click here for the post on my previous version… I really like Tamanegi-Kobo’s last top pattern (Coral) and Yoshimi’s take on it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2011 15:02

    This top is adorable! I love the print, it is so pretty. You are right about the need for fewer seams, to show off the print well.
    And I really loved your version of Vogue 8706. Wonderful job!
    Yes the zip is quite long on that Karl Lagerfeld skirt. The pattern called for a 20cm zip. Ordinarily I would expect a 15cm zip on a little skirt like that one!

    Like

  2. May 31, 2011 15:40

    Cute top! I love the fabric. ~Val

    Like

Leave a Reply

