Skip to content

July can come

May 18, 2011

I finally found the time and energy to finish the dress I intend to wear to the wedding I’ll be attending in July. The weather has been very pleasant in the last weeks and we’ve tried undertake more family activities, which kept me away from the sewing machine. I really like this pattern and can only recommend it. The main sewing is done fast. Only the finish, which involves slipstitching the facings onto the seam allowance of the piping, is somewhat slower. I’m not a fan of hand sewing so I briefly considered stitching the piping to the armholes and facings and then top- or understitching instead but I’m really happy I didn’t because the slipstitching yields a much more beautiful result from the inside. The only thing I did that was not in the instructions was to secure the facings to the side seam allowances. Also, my version is not as short as Vogue’s. And like I said, I made a cheater FBA. The back neckline gapes a bit despite that and I don’t know how to remedy that but it doesn’t really bother me. Still, don’t hesitate to leave a comment if you know how to avoid this issue next time.

I suspect I’ll have to alter it to have it fit better when I’m not pregnant anymore because it fits so comfortable now that it’ll probably be too wide across the waist then. Or maybe it’s just the jersey? We’ll see.

First post on this project here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. laetitia permalink
    May 19, 2011 18:09

    Très joli Ghain’s! Mais j’ai quand même plus de ventre que toi!

    Like

Leave a Reply

