Skip to content

Baby steps – Vogue 8706

April 17, 2011

Baby steps back to sewing. I realized about 10 days ago that I’m invited to a wedding in July. Seeing that I’ll be really round then, I think I’ll have two possibilities: opt for a tent or a mumu and accessorize heavily to distract from my middle section, or embrace my new figure and go for something fitted. I went for the latter. I sifted through my patterns and after briefly considering a shorter Vogue 1940 (OOP), I set my mind on Vogue 8706. This is what it’s looking like now:

The fabric is a cotton knit i.e. well suited for summer and that reminds me of a certain Project Runway contestant (just what was his name again? Edit: it was Mondo!) because of the houndstooth pattern. I can’t finish the dress yet because the piping cord I ordered for the armhole finish hasn’t arrived yet. It also needs hemming. The tracing and cutting took much more time than the actual sewing, which was done within 3 hours today while staying home alone. The only change I made to the pattern was a cheater FBA. I cursed myself after I was done tracing for not lengthening it but as it turns out, it didn’t need it. Pictures of the dress on me as soon as it’s finished.

Hopefully I’m back on the saddle…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2011 20:45

    Je ne connaissais pas ce patron, j’ai hate de voir ta robe finie ! Elle rend déjà très bien!
    Au fait, félicitations pour ton heureux événement🙂

    Like

  2. April 18, 2011 09:09

    I’m happy that you’re back to sewing.
    This dress looks good! I can’t wait to see it finished!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. July can come « Lin3arossa's Blog

Leave a Reply

