Skip to content

Struggling to get back on tracks

March 24, 2011

Thank you to those who sent me a “get better soon” mail and sewing vibes😉 after my “hiatus” post, I really appreciate it. I haven’t sewn a stitch in weeks, maybe even in more than a month. It wasn’t that my mojo was gone, especially since I kept up to date with my blog roll. I just didn’t have any energy left at the end of the day, every single day. I’m feeling slightly better now, but I will have to put most of my ideas on hold. Why? Because due to my condition, I’m going to try and concentrate on sewing knits, at least as far as I’m concerned. So did you guess? No? Then let me open Pandora’s box for you.

I’m expecting Kiddo #2, and I’m at the end of the first trimester. So far, it’s taken a greater toll on me than the first time around, not only because I have DD to entertain and care for, but also because I’ve suffered under permanent nausea for weeks and still. No vomiting though, which on one hand I’m thankful for because none of my colleagues suspects anything despite my disappearing waist, but on the other hand makes it almost worse, kind of permanently being on the verge of a sneeze. It’s the only symptom I have but definitely the most bothersome. I’m now in week 12 of 40, feeling a tiny bit better and hoping it’ll improve even more. I know I’d better take advantage of the next 3 months because if I recall correctly, the last third isn’t a breeze either, one rather feels like a whale out of water.

I hope to be sewing and posting regularly again soon!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 16:24

    Congratulations!!! My first trimester throws me for a loop as well. The neverending nausea does sap your energy. I hope it passes soon!

    Like

    • March 25, 2011 09:37

      I started following your blog last year and I admired that you made clothes for your non-pregnant self while pregnant. I’m not sure I’ll have the guts to do that. Maybe if they’re knits…

      Like

  2. March 24, 2011 19:15

    Congratulations! I hope your mojo will be back soon!🙂

    Like

  3. March 24, 2011 20:50

    Congratulations! How wonderful for your DD, too. Will you be making baby clothes? (Please say yes; I missed out on this…)

    Like

    • March 25, 2011 09:35

      I’m unsure if I’ll be making baby clothes from the beginning. They just grow way too fast in the beginning, I wonder if it’s worth the trouble. I’m also not sure if I’ll need any extra clothes (I have some from DD and will be getting some from my family as well…). But I’m considering it🙂

      Like

  4. March 24, 2011 22:03

    Congratulations! What happy news! 🙂

    Like

  5. March 24, 2011 23:58

    I’m sorry to hear you’ve been unwell. But, huge congrats on the baby news :)!!

    Like

  6. March 24, 2011 23:59

    Ohhhhhh! Congratulations! (I didn’t guess, heehee) At least this means there’s an end in sight to your condition, and you get a wonderful gift at the end!🙂

    Like

    • March 25, 2011 09:32

      I HOPE there is an end, though at least two women I know suffered from nausea the whole 9 months *gasp*!

      Like

  7. March 25, 2011 09:17

    Congratulations! My 2 pregnancies were very different too, and I think the second one is always going to be harder work because you’re already starting from a slightly rundown, tired mum position… I hope the pregnancy gets easier from here on.

    Like

  8. CGCouture permalink
    March 25, 2011 14:26

    Now you know 3 people who were sick the whole time!😦 However, people like me are rare exceptions, and you’ll start feeling better soon. I didn’t even think to guess that you would be pregnant again, but congratulations! Your DD will be so excited about a sibling. Do you know if the baby is boy or girl yet? I’m guessing girl based on one of your comments? Now you’re going to get even more for your money out of those Ottobre magazines.😉

    Like

    • March 25, 2011 15:11

      So far everybody says it’s a boy because I feel so different than with DD. But we don’t know yet. I have 3 nephews and 3 nieces so no matter what, I tend to assume that I’ll get so much clothes from my bro and sis that I won’t have to buy/sew much, at least in the beginning. DD doesn’t know yet because 6 months is just a long time when you’re 4, we decided to postpone telling her as much as possible. But she will be delighted.

      Like

  9. March 25, 2011 15:29

    congratulations!!! so exciting! im happy for you!! xoxo

    Like

    • March 25, 2011 16:00

      Thank you so much! I so envy you right now to be on the last stretch of your pregnancy lol I wish you the best for the delivery!

      Like

  10. April 26, 2011 21:41

    ahh! you are going to be my pregnant sewing buddy online!🙂 i think we are only 1 or 2 weeks apart, how exciting! i totally know what you mean by on the verge of sneezing. lots of times i wished it would just throw up and get it over with! cant wait to see all the pregnant friendly clothing you are sewing up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

