Skip to content

The power of blogging

February 12, 2011

You might have read this post about the Vogue patterns and how prohibitive I think their international shipping fees are. Plus they don’t even take paypal, only credit cards. I said my to-get list was getting longer than the sales allow me to order, mostly because when they go on sale, you can only order 10 at a time. Yes, that’s how long my list is. Imported Vogue patterns are available here but they don’t go on sale, i.e. you have to pocket out 18-22€/pattern. I don’t have that kind of money. Fortunately, someone had mercy on me. Rose asked if she should get some patterns for me on the upcoming JoAnn’s sale. I don’t think she knew what she was getting herself into. I expect she fell off her chair when I sent her my list but is too nice a person to ask me how shameless or crazy I was to ask her to get so many patterns. I believe she had to visit a couple of stores to find them and she did find most of them. To make a week-long story short, we emailed, she mailed, and this is just some of what I got yesterday:

  • some patterns to learn from, with detailed tailoring instructions, like

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • some patterns I’m not sure I’ll ever need, but shall I, I’ll have them

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • some patterns with a high chance of being made up soon:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*bliss* I’m on seventh heaven. They were sweetly packed as gift but I admit I was too impatient to take the time to photograph that. I’m a slow sewer so I should probably go on “pattern diet” for the next couple of years or so, until I’ve gone through these. The keyword in the sentence was: should.

Thank you Rose!

Now I need a good way to sort my patterns files. How do you sort yours? By brand? By designer? By garment type?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2011 11:12

    Lucky you! I sort patterns into ones I’ve made and ones I haven’t, but that’s mainly because I usually put ones I’ve made into larger envelopes and it’s easier to keep all the big ones in one pile. I quite enjoy the process of going through the entire collection to find something… it often reminds me of patterns I’d forgotten.

    Like

  2. February 13, 2011 22:24

    You are very welcome–I’m glad that you are enjoying the patterns! I look forward to seeing your future sewing projects. 🙂

    Rose in SV

    Like

Leave a Reply

