Skip to content

2011: the year of the gown

December 27, 2010

After one my friends said “yes” to the ultimate question about a week ago and asked me yesterday if I was up to sew her wedding dress (she insists it won’t be a gown), I’ll probably make my first muslin in 2011. The wedding should take place in about a year so we have time but I’m fretting already. She visited today, sifted through my Burdas and picked this, from the 11-2007 issue:

I can do this. I can really do this.  I could even turn cute. She wants the neckline about 5 cm (2 inches) lower and is undecided as to whether to add sleeves or not. The dress comes with an all-in-one facing but no lining. No lining?!? I think we’ll want to line it but I’ll make the muslin unlined and sleeveless first. I just need to get some cheap cotton. Does anybody know of a good SBA tutorial on a darted bodice?

Edit: I already have a great tutorial on drafting a sleeve.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2010 17:55

    A lovely dress, you can and you will do it, don’t be afraid. Hungry Zombie Couture did a SBA tutorial, take a look here:
    http://hungryzombiecouture.blogspot.com/2007/03/my-cup-does-not-runneth-over.html

    Like

  2. CGCouture permalink
    December 30, 2010 05:38

    With all those seams, you could probably just take larger seam allowances and achieve the same goal. Good luck! 🙂

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. It ain’t over til it’s over « Lin3arossa's Blog

Leave a Reply

