Skip to content

I am not pregnant

December 3, 2010
tags: ,

I made this garment in the summer. Back then it seemed to me that several fellow sewing bloggers were either getting married (Elaine May from The Selfish Seamstress, Melissa from Fehrtrade, Petite Republic), expecting (Katiekadiddlehopper) or recently gave birth (Christina from Assorted Notions, M1khaela from Boiling Point Blog, Adriana from the Princess seam, Amanda from Amanda’s Adventures in Sewing). I have no such life-changing announcement to make. I congratulate each of them once more and hope that this review will be helpful for at least some because yes, I made myself a maternity dress! It’s Burda 7528, the one I had talked about here.

When I read the hint that you should pick a size bigger than the usual if your bust measurement had increased more than 6 cm due to pregnancy, I assumed there was a looooot of ease in the pattern and decided to cut 2 sizes smaller than my usual Burda size. Glad I did. The only other thing I wish I had done is adding in-seam pockets. Also I cut the dress length (there are 2 lengths proposed) and it was too long for my taste so I made a 10-cm hem.  I understiched the free edges of the yoke and topstitched the joining seam. I’ll need a hook and eye at the front opening because the shoulders keep dropping if I wear it with a belt without a top underneath. And without a belt or a pregnant belly it’s really a mumu. This is a great maternity dress and the deep front opening would be perfect for breastfeeding. To me it’s been a nice regular casual summer dress.

The sleeves aren’t as puffy as I would like, possibly due to my choice of fabric, I think I might have to starch it, or maybe reinforce with organza… The fabric is a linen I got at the Holland market back in the summer for 2€/m. I actually didn’t have enough to cut all pieces so I made the inner sleeves out a plain white batiste.

This dress is ok but not a highlight if you’re not pregnant, perfect if you are.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2010 14:55

    It’s cute, and I love the way you’ve styled it with the belt/leggings/boots. Very chic, and I’d never guess it’s a maternity pattern.

    Like

  2. December 4, 2010 17:30

    I like how you styled this — definitely doesn’t look maternity or mu’u mu’u!

    Like

  3. Serenity permalink
    December 22, 2010 13:43

    I’m not pregnant either and i make the occasional maternity dress. Cute is cute.

    Like

Leave a Reply

