Skip to content

Teal curve hugging dress

November 11, 2010

I don’t know why this color is called “petrol” in German, I wonder if that’s the color of “raw” gasoline? I always though it was black. Anyways, I finally made this dress I’ve been salivating on since September and I love it! It took a great deal of altering to “unpetite” it and work in a FBA, and it all worked out. First, I though I could rely on the skirt pattern to cut the skirt pieces but I was wrong: the skirt is designed for woven fabrics, while the dress drafted for knits so the ease is not the same. And there’s no difference between the petite and regular measurements in the lower body so what I did is grade the skirt piece of the dress pattern to a 22(petite)/44 (regular). I cut the bodice pieces based on my upper bust measurement and did the following: I added 1.5 cm in length to piece 1, same to piece 2, 1 cm to piece 3, 1.5 cm to piece 9 (upper back) and 0.5 cm to piece 8. With that being done, I made a half FBA. What do I mean by that? I mean that I made a FBA only altering the width of the pieces. How? I marked my bust point, draw a line going through the bust point and parallel to the center front (with a hinge at the shoulder) on pieces 1 to 3, took them 2.5 cm apart and when truing up the seam lines, made sure not to add additional length. I don’t know if that was the right way to do it but that’s what I did and that’s what worked. Also, I obviously skipped the funny sleeves. I debated on drafting facings or doing a bias binding and opted for the latter to avoid bulk at the shoulder seams. I couldn’t find teal satin binding so I had to settle for black.

I forgot to take pictures of the back when wearing it but you can see from the pic how curved the dress is in itself. This dress went together like a dream, which was kind of surprising to me. I was also surprised that there wasn’t any markings to match the curved lines and to account for that I started them all from the center to one side and then again from center to the other side, instead of sewing from side to side. Last surprise: I can walk without any problem despite the absence of a vent (I hemmed by hand rather loose)!

This dress is so flattering and comfortable! I feel really good in it. I feel like Joan Holloway. I don’t think I’ll make it again but I don’t exclude making the skirt sometime ha ha

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2010 21:49

    Job well done. It looks great on you. Its nice to see you sewing for yourself, instead of the little princess.

    Like

    • November 11, 2010 22:37

      Yes it’s been a long time since I made something for me. The problem with the little princess is that she grows fast and could always use new clothing. Most of the time, mommy can wait but this time I decided to be a bit selfish 🙂

      Like

  2. November 11, 2010 21:55

    I love the dress, it looks great! Good job!

    Like

  3. November 12, 2010 21:10

    Fabulous dress. It suits you perfectly and looks soooo nice!

    Like

  4. November 14, 2010 09:40

    Wahou !!!!! I absolutely love the dress on you ! You did a very great job !!

    Like

  5. December 2, 2010 21:50

    That’s a fantastic looking dress, and it’s on my sewing list too! Great job!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Thank you! « Lin3arossa's Blog

Leave a Reply

