Skip to content

Rosebud pants chain production

October 25, 2010

What to do when the fall comes faster than you can sew and letting your little one run around naked is not an option? You optimise the process. Standardize it. My interpretation of it was to cut 4 of the beginner-friendly rosebud (ruusunnuppu, seen here already) one-piece pant pattern and sew them all up one after the other within an afternoon in red, grey, blue and black. I know, real standardizing would have meant making them all in the same color but that would have been too boring. The pants have an elastic waistband, no side seam and a gathered dart at the ankles that I guess is supposed to look like a rose bud. I made them in velour as per pattern and decorated a bit with some woven ribbons and that’s it. The fabrics and notions are from the Holland market.

My DD won’t be running around naked (or so I feel) and I can now take my time to make her some more elaborated pants, each from a different pattern! Or do the same with another pattern, like the Milla from the latest issue…

I used the overlock stitch of my sewing machine on these as well. Although I prefer french seams, I think I’ll use it again for other knit projects.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 06:23

    I so love these pants. I just haven’t gotten around to getting a subscription to Ottobre. Would love to make these for my little ones.

    Like

  2. October 26, 2010 15:49

    Ich bin immer wieder total begeistert, Du naehst so suesse Sachen fuer Deine Kleine, immer wieder sehr individuell und wirklich toll!!!
    Vielen Dank auch fuer Deinen Kommentar zu den Papiersternen, das Papier habe ich bei Michaels gekauft, die haben ja eine riesige Auswahl, die Papierboegen kannst Du dort als Paket kaufen.
    Liebe Gruesse
    Maren

    Like

    • October 28, 2010 22:46

      oh Danke, deine Worte gehen ja runter wie Honig 🙂 Michaels ist ja in Reinbek, nicht so weit weg von mir aus(Hamburg). Ich meine auch mal solche Papierbögen bei Idee gesehen zu haben. Mal schauen, wohin ich es zuerst schaffe…

      Like

Leave a Reply

