Skip to content

Candy pink twist dress

October 6, 2010

The original pattern is called “suklaatwist”, which is Finnish for chocolate twist. Since I used this pink velour instead of brown like the original, I call my version candy pink twist. I assume the twist refers to the lower sleeves, which are slightly twisted. This is a pretty easy project, very well suited for a patient beginner as it involves quite a bit of gathering. The fabric is a velour from the Holland fabric market a few weeks ago. The end garment is casual and cozy.

The instructions on the sleeves sound confusing and they will be if you don’t read carefully and pay attention to what you should do with the lower edge and the upper edge of the sleeve. You have to define which is which for yourself, since the sleeve pieces are basically foursquare. Then, you should align the side seam with the outer sleeve seam (mine don’t but yours should :)) and offset the inner sleeve seam and the side seam by about 4 cm according to the instructions but I recommend more if you want the twist to be more noticeable.

As you can see from my pictures, the finishing on this one is not what I’d call pretty but with this fabric and all the gathering, french seams would have been too bulky so I used zigzag and the overlock stitch (I don’t own an overlock so it’s more of a simili-overlock). The gathering is done with clear elastic, which I think is a bit tricky to work with but gives nice even gathers.

Tip when working with velour: respect the nap when cutting. More on that later…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. CGCouture permalink
    October 6, 2010 20:12

    Oh I hear you on the “respect the nap” thing….I screwed up some gorgeous velvet that way once. 😦

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Special order dress « Lin3arossa's Blog

Leave a Reply

