Skip to content

Copycat Vadelma cord dress… or is it a tunic?

October 3, 2010

Disclaimer: DD had no part in me not finding my USB cable. I have to face the truth: I’m a mess. Moving on…

“Vadelma” means “raspberry” in Finnish and this one fits the bill. In fact, it’s almost a copy of the original dress, which I only realized after being done with it lol

Ottobre calls this a dress but I don’t think I’d have DD wear only this, even in the summer so it’s more of a tunic. Anyways, it’s got a round collar and 2 box pleats in the front and one in the back AND a decorative latch in the back. The pattern is quite straight forward, unless you make mistakes like cutting two half backs instead of cutting it on the fold, or choose not to have any raw edges, which means Hong-Kong finishing…

I love how it “girlifies” this pants outfit for my girly girl. The buttons are mother-of-pearl, a bit smaller in the back than on the front. I love them and I think they make a great job at reconciling my Hong Kong bias with the fashion fabric. What do you think?

Here’s a close up of the pants although I’ll post on them later:

In other matters, the button is now sewn on the faux-fur coat. Now I only have to make some pics. Baby steps here…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    October 5, 2010 20:22

    perfect button

    Like

  2. Nicole permalink
    October 5, 2010 20:24

    …and where are the new shoes…in pink?

    Like

    • October 5, 2010 23:12

      The Converse? It’s too cold for them, except when she’s away in the car on weekends…

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. Rosebud pants chain production « Lin3arossa's Blog
  2. DD’s Lookbook « Lin3arossa's Blog

Leave a Reply

