Skip to content

Fancy dance faux-fur coat

September 1, 2010

I’m not a fan of fur. Not only because of the way it’s “harvested”, I just don’t think it looks good. But to my own surprise, when I saw this pattern in Ottobre, it was love at first sight.

BUT I knew that it was not so much the pattern I was in love with, but rather the combination of pattern and fabric. So when I saw that very fabric in an Ebay-shop a couple of months later, I did pondered but not long. I had to have it. And now, a year later, I have finally cut into it. And now that I’m done, well, I’m still in love. In fact, I wish I were 3 so I could wear it:

I still need to find an appropriate button, probably a wooden one. Then I’ll take pictures of DD wearing the coat.

This project turned out to be easier than I had anticipated. The raincoat was definitely more challenging. I used a sharp needle and didn’t rip any seam unless absolutely necessary. Ripping a seam does leave some holes but they disappear upon brushing the fabric a bit. The only difficulty was sewing layers because they get pretty thick pretty fast.

I don’t have an overlock so I could’nt flatlock stitch the front and back seams. This is the first time an Ottobre pattern does not contain an alternative technique for the case one doesn’t own an overlocker. Anyway, what I did instead is put the middle front piece wrong side against right side on top of the side front piece, superposing the seamlines and then stitch on that very line. Then double stitch on the outside, making sure the fur “looks” to the outside of the seam, and then cut any seam allowance remaining without cutting the fur, of course!. No further finish is necessary. Here’s how it looks like:

And the same applies for the collar:

Cutting with the tip of the shears or with a rotary cutter without cutting through the fur is what allows it to stick out at the hem (see front and back pictures above). What you absolutely have to think about when cutting such a fabric is the nap i.e. the direction of the “hair”. All fabric pieces should be cut in the same direction. Thank you Ottobre for the reminder.

Although this coat is really warm, I don’t think she’ll be wearing it on really cold days because of the open collar. Or she needs an equally warm shawl. Because of the turned-over sleeves and since I cut a size 110, I’m hoping she’ll get to wear it this and next fall (other moms out there, am I being unrealistic?). This is a nice pattern that could be made up in boiled wool as is or in cord if you draft a lining from the pattern. The only think I’m not sooo crazy about is the inside, because it looks so unfinished, so raw. But I can live with it. What say you?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. CGCouture permalink
    September 2, 2010 03:42

    I wish I were three so that I could have the coat! Adorable! And no, you aren’t being unreasonable to expect some wear out of it next year. I mean, don’t have your heart set on it, but there seems to be a slow-down in growth between 3 and 4. 🙂

    Like

  2. September 9, 2010 12:22

    It is FABULOUS! Fur isn’t easy to work with sometimes, but you do it well. Great job.

    k a t y

    Like

  3. September 10, 2010 19:41

    I’m jealous of your coat! It looks awesome!

    Like

  4. September 16, 2010 00:54

    This is just beautiful – I have 3 girls that I sew coats for every year! I love love LOVE this coat! You did a lovely job!

    Like

  5. October 13, 2010 20:03

    Wouah il est magnifique, on dirait exactement le même que dans le magasine! 😀

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Pictures owed « Lin3arossa's Blog
  2. It ain’t over til it’s over « Lin3arossa's Blog

Leave a Reply

