Skip to content

Because fall will be back

August 15, 2010

After a month-long hiatus I have picked up my knitting needles again and here is the result:

A 100% merino poncho, the pattern is from Emily Mausezahn, issue 5. It’s only available in size 92/98, which I made and then blocked a bit longer, to a size 104. I got the wool at the wool factory back in April so it’s of no particular brand. The pompoms came  out a bit bigger then I intended but DD likes them so. The pattern is really simple and I love the result. I wish I had an adult version for myself 🙂

August hasn’t been that warm here in Hamburg so I really don’t know why people kept looking at me as if I had just landed from Jupiter while I was knitting in the subway or as if they didn’t think the fall will be back. I sew when I’m home and knit (or sometimes read pattern instructions) on my way to and back from work, what’s wrong with that? Do you knit or do any other craft or hobby in places others would consider weird?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2010 16:49

    My daughter is involved in a lot of activities; dance, gymnastics, art, etc. I spend a lot of time just sitting and waiting for her, so I knit. Everyone stares at me as if I were from Mars!! I like to read pattern instructions as well, again I get the strangest looks!

    Like

  2. August 15, 2010 16:49

    BTW – very cute poncho!!

    Like

  3. Nicole permalink
    August 16, 2010 16:10

    An adult version sounds great…;-)

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Insider tip – Hamburg woll fabric « Lin3arossa's Blog

Leave a Reply

