Skip to content

Flower and paisley hippie Benetton dress

August 11, 2010

This is another one of the patterns that got all cut out and ready to go back in June and have been sitting around ever since. Shame on me. It’s a Benetton dress from Patrones 265. It has got raglan sleeves with elastic and a ribbon to ruffle and close at the neckline. Even if I could read Spanish, I would have made it without looking at the instructions. It really is a straightforward pattern.  I cut a size 6 without seam allowances and finished it with french seams and bias.

The original dress:

My rendition:

Close enough? Instead of making a self fabric band for the neck, I used a satin ribbon. I think the contrast brings out the colors of the fabric nicely. I also didn’t just insert the ribbon in the tunnel. I cut it in half and sew each of the halves to one end of an elastic. That way, the neckline stretches and I don’t have to ever open the front knot to put the dress on. Thank you Ottobre for that lesson.

As you can see from the back picture of DD dancing, the dress “moves” beautifully. I love the flower and paisley pattern of the fabric (from Ebay). If you like this style but can’t get you hands on this Patrones issue, the pattern is very similar to Simplicity 2377.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 11, 2010 21:24

    It’s very cute, the colours are so sunny! She looks very happy in it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

