Skip to content

The summer is not over yet

August 8, 2010

This is a pattern designed by the label Marybel for Burda and it’s a winner and there’s all there is to say about it. The bodice has princess seams and is underlined (using this method for a Hong-Kong-like finish) and the skirt is lined. The dress closes with a zipper in the back. I practiced my rolled hem once more on the tiers and lining. It went really smooth and my hems look really good so I’d say that’s a skill I definitely master now (yes!). The fabric I got a few weeks ago at the fabric market in Hamburg, for a mere 1.50€ (yes again!). DD kept asking me if I was done while I was working on it and practically snapped it from under the sewing machine as soon as I said I was (triple yes!).  So this is a winner and a keeper. Perfect alone for the warm days left and with long sleeves under for the fall.

I need to get a longer ribbon, I just did with what was in my stash.

Nice tutorial on bias finish for neckline and armhole here.

I’m actually thinking fall already but I was in such a cutting frenzy in the past months that I still have a few cut-and-ready-to-sew garments that I need to finish first.

Edit 16.08.: If you like this model, don’t have this issue and can draft princess seams on an existing pattern (you could also substitute the bodice for that of pattern #32), there’s a very similar dress in Ottobre 6/2009 called the Sunday rose dress, also available for bigger girls. Maybe you’ll have that one?

One Comment leave one →
  1. CGCouture permalink
    August 9, 2010 02:59

    The dress is awesome! Your daughter looks adorable as always, she’s so lucky to have such an awesome mom! 🙂 And I’m totally going to send all my stuff that needs rolled hems done to you now…LOL! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

