Skip to content

Stopping over home

July 24, 2010
tags:

That was it with Marseille, I’m spending a couple of days home before leaving for Basel. Might sound exhausting but it really is ok. Checking on my roommate (you know, the one that happens to be my DD’s dad ;)), laundry the content of my suitcase, than fold and re-pack everything for the next week. Speaking of which, look what was in my suitcase:

These are all batiste fabrics from the market (Marché de la Plaine) for 1.5 to 2€/meter. I don’t think I’ll be sewing them up this year. I was so into the fabrics that I forgot to take a picture of the market, sorry! This market takes place 3 times a week and you can find everything and anything there. There were so many fabrics for such prices! I was jealous and thankful that there’s no such thing in Hamburg. The only reason I didn’t pick more is my luggage limitations and the postage rates in France.

I’ve been a good girl in Marseille. Here are some of the things I did not get:

These are french translations of some of the japanese sewing books I know from here. I also did not get any of Astrid Le Provost “Intemporels pour …” sewing books, although I pondered a lot on the “…futures mamans” one, despite the fact that I’m really not planning on becoming pregnant. The patterns are that beautiful. Yes, I’ve been a really good girl. Or maybe I’m just broke lol.

And if you laughed when you read about me getting some tan, well, here’s proof that at least DD did get some:

This is how she looked like about 3 hours after we got there as she changed into her swim suit right away and if you look close enough, you’ll even see the stripes of the swimsuit lol.

And this, my friends, is what you might look like after you go to the beach (Plage de la Pointe Rouge) in Marseille:

Feels just fine, tastes like chips (said DD).

That was it for the beach and pool week, the mountains week is coming up, all thanks to 20€-budget flights (for real!).

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 12:57

    Wow you are so lucky! The holiday, the beach, the fabric! They are gorgeous fabrics – I can’t wait to see what you make of the grey/yellow especially!

    P.S.) That stripey tan is awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

