Skip to content

A promise is a debt

July 5, 2010

When I subscribed to Ottobre last December, I promised myself I’d make at least one pattern from each issue before the next one comes out. So when I saw the announcement that the next issue is coming out July 9, I owed it to myself to get to work. And this is the result:

I find it really hard to shoot a decent picture in the sticky weather. Has anyone ever experienced this. Anyway, the fabric is a linen remnant I bought at the Holland market a couple of weeks ago: 1.50 m for 1.50€!

The dress has a front yoke, pleated patch pockets, a back zipper and is embellished with flower-shaped buttons and velvet rikrak (yes, velvet rikrak! Wasn’t aware that such thing existed until I stumbled upon it on Ebay) . The pattern is straightforward and the instructions are okay, except the part where Ottobre tries to described understitching instead of just saying to understitch the facing.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2010 17:56

    Adorable, pretty and sooooo girlish!

    Like

    • July 7, 2010 11:45

      Thanks Alethia! As soon as the weather got warm, she refused to wear anymore pants. So it’s only dresses and skirt, preferably the ones that twirl, preferably in pink or violet (or both!). Yes, she’s girly…

      Like

  2. July 5, 2010 19:24

    What a cute little dress….worn by a very cute little girl!!

    Like

    • July 7, 2010 11:41

      You know any compliment to my daughter goes straight to my heart and makes it beat faster with pride, right 🙂

      Like

  3. Nehmah permalink
    July 6, 2010 02:33

    She must have the nicest wardrobe of the neighborhood. I had not heard of velvet rickrack (leave it to Americans to add extra letters;-) but will try to find some. Cordially, Nehmah

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Not a good first « Lin3arossa's Blog

Leave a Reply

