Skip to content

The instant gratification dress

June 30, 2010

Allison is the one who draw my attention on this dress and made me get the May issue of the Burda mag afterall. And since I needed some distraction from V1175 which is not coming along like I would like to, I made it up:

Pardon the headless picture but this was shot at the end of a hot summer day and I didn’t feel like displaying my shiny face…

I’m a slow sewer but this dress was so easy and quick to make, it took me only one after-hours sitting! Really, I think figuring out the pattern placement took me longer than actually sewing it up. At the beginning, I wasn’t really convinced with my pattern placement, I felt like wearing a tablecloth, I guess because of the border at the hem and neckline, but it’s grown on me now and I really like it. I’d say the pictures don’t do justice to the dress nor to my butt.

I lengthened the bodice about 4 cm, so as to be able to wear the elastic lower than at the natural waist as shown in the magazine, which if you have anything else than a flat stomach (ahem ahem…), wouldn’t be very flattering. I cut a 40 at the shoulders and tapered to 44 at the hips, because I didn’t want to think about how to do an FBA on this pattern. There’s nothing I dislike about this dress. The shoulders don’t slip, the bra shows a bit on the sides but they will let the breeze through on any hot summer day so I can cope with it. The skirt might look like it’s narrow but I really can walk just fine since the jersey I used stretches a lot and was hemmed with a twin needle. I got the fabric at Karstadt for 5€/m and still have enough for another project.

This one is a no-brainer and goes in the same category than last year’s beach cover-up. If you have this issue, go for it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2010 12:00

    Cute dress love the fabric print.

    Like

  2. June 30, 2010 12:48

    Love the fabric, very cute

    Like

Leave a Reply

