Skip to content

I’m afraid of a foot

April 30, 2010

Another summer dress for DD, this one is from Patrones. It’s lined and in cotton with a raised waistline, faux laced front, back zipper and a sheer overlayer. The original is from Foque, a brand I’ve never heard about:

Did you notice that the seam allowances at the neck, sleeves and waist are not visible despite the sheer white overlayer? I did too when I looked into the magazine and I found out: the bodice is underlined. So this is my first underlined garment (yeah!):

After I’d finished this dress I discovered a very nice tutorial on how to underline and finish a garment in one step. Sounds awesome and I’m bookmarking it for my next underlined unlined garment.

I can’t say too much about the instructions, I can’t read spanish. I assumed as a French-speaker I’d end up understanding the text if I just kept reading it over and over and over again. It sort of worked but since I didn’t want to spend the night reading, once I had gotten the part about underlining the bodice, I freestyled. The bodice was assembled as described in Ottobre 3-2008-15, and the rest is pretty straightforward. The waist allowances need to be stitched to the bodice (if sewn to the skirt, they’d be visible!). All in all a cute summery dress and DD adopted it right away!

Now to the title: I tried to hem the front panels of the sheer overlayer with a rolled hem, failed miserably and ended up doing a baby hem. It was not my first try at a machine rolled hem. I’m trying to convince myself that the texture of the fabric was the problem and not the operator but I’m growing more “respectful” of that foot each time I try… 😦

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2010 13:41

    So cute. And good job.

    Like

  2. CGCouture permalink
    May 1, 2010 16:42

    Very cute! Don’t worry about the foot, you’ll eventually get the hang of it and it won’t terrify you anymore. I used to feel the same way about my serger, but now I don’t twice about using it.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. One party dresss and one fear conquered! « Lin3arossa's Blog

Leave a Reply

