Skip to content

Pattern sighting…

April 18, 2010

…is a new tag of mine. No matter how little time to sew I have, I’ll always find some to drool over some juicy patterns. In 2008 I fell in love with this blouse from Penelope Cruz’s collection at Mango:

I was at the dawn of my sewing and didn’t even come to the idea that I could make this up. And when I tried to buy it, it was sold out. Well, apparently, it had so much success that it got released as Vogue pattern V8598, as I just found out:

The pattern or at least that view, however, seems to have a few issues as reported here. A worthy alternative that made it to my to-do list and is actually cut and ready to sew (don’t ask me since when) in a black poplin, is Burda 1-2008-125, with or without cuffs:

The only major issue reported with this one appears to be a weirdly shaped sleeve cap.

Which one do you like better?

Update: it seems Knipmode published a more casual version of their own in the May 2008 issue:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. CGCouture permalink
    April 19, 2010 23:35

    Personally, I like the Vogue one better, but……if it has a lot of problems it’s just not worth it. What about tweaking Butterick 5284?

    Like

  2. April 20, 2010 09:47

    I do love that shirt – those sleeves are very dramatic.

    Like

  3. April 22, 2010 00:16

    I made the Burda blouse last year… I was very pleased with the end result; on the other hand I really love the Vogue pattern design

    Like

Leave a Reply

