Skip to content

Gewollt vs. gekonnt

April 12, 2010

I don’t intend to start my post with some sort of lexicon from now on but it I just couldn’t come up with an english equivalent for the German phrase “gewollt aber nicht gekonnt”. Literally translated, it means so much as “tried but not accomplished”. But let me start at the beginning. I’ve been contemplating this pattern ever since the 9/2009 issue of the Burda mag came out:

I loved it, yet couldn’t believe that those pleats would stay in place on a full bust. You can even see on the pictures that something is going wrong in the bodice under the pleats, although both models’ upright posture. The first versions (i.e. from Cidell or the  Burdastyle member MyReCreation) that popped on the blogosphere rather confirmed my fears and let this one fly off my to-do list. That’s the advantage of having a huge to-do list and too little sewing time: some items stay on there so long they disqualify themselves based on others’ experience before I get around to making them up, which is ok because I don’t have the time and patience for muslins. Anyway, the phrase “gewollt aber nicht gekonnt” was my first thought when I discovered this Vogue pattern:

This is the technical drawing of the dress and the jacket included in the pattern:

I think the visible seam in the front is a reasonable price to pay for an overall better fit and judging from the much smoother bodice showing from under the pleats, it is a much better fit. And the seam going to the back at the hip? So hot. I couldn’t find any hobby sewer version but I don’t care. When is Vogue having their next sale again?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. CGCouture permalink
    April 13, 2010 20:06

    Jo-Ann’s has Vogues for $3.99 right now, but if I remember correctly you don’t live in the US, so that probably doesn’t help you much….Sorry!

    Like

    • April 13, 2010 22:32

      No, I need to wait for the next online Vogue sale. I could get them here in Germany too but they cost something like 18€/pattern, which I’m not ready to give. Order from Vogue on sale is cheaper, even with international shipping. I’ll just be patient…

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. Seeing double « Lin3arossa's Blog
  2. Seeing Double – Big4 goes Indie? | Lin3arossa

Leave a Reply

