Skip to content

It’s summer!

March 28, 2010
tags:

Well, at least sewing wise. I’ve started with DD’s summer wardrobe. The first item is this dress, which she fell in love with immediately. In that fabric, this was a sure bet.

The fabric is from Bizzkids, bought from the Netherlands over the internet last year for a price so cheap the shipping to Germany was more expensive but altogether still cheap, and stored away like a treasure because I didn’t have the confidence to cut into it. It’s an embelisged bordered poplin and the pattern is Ottobre 1-2008-20 in size 104. It’s not a complicated pattern but it does demand some patience with the gathers and with the waistband if you don’t want it to turn wonky. Many reviews on patternreview complained about the instructions on the gathering. I found that when I gathered to the maximum, I had exactly the stated width, at least at the waist. The neckline was trickier and I used the length of the neck bias to make sure I had it right. I substituted the velvet ribbon for a voile band and used the same fabric for the neck bias band. I changed the construction sequence too and sew the side seams before the voile waist band, so that the band would match at the sides. I left out the elastics at the sleeves because I wasn’t in the mood to fiddle. It might be because of the fabric I used, which is rather stiff, but this dress gives DD somewhat of a hunchback if not ironed. Nothing dramatic, though…

I used a contrasting yellow zipper in the back. I like the final result but I think a blue fabric would’ve matched and emphasized those blue fishes and the fabric altogether a bit better. The good thing is: I bought 2 m so I have a remnant! I like that this is an evolutive pattern that can start as a dress and end as a tunic. I’m pretty sure I lengthened the pattern but it’s still shorter that I intended. Oh well…

Here‘s a close-up of the fabric.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2010 14:24

    your kids are so cute!! i need to learn to sew. way to go!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Granny square dresses « Lin3arossa's Blog
  2. Lookbook « Lin3arossa's Blog

Leave a Reply

